Skip to main content
Research and innovation
News article26 January 2022Directorate-General for Research and Innovation

European Commission appoints the new members of the European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies

Today, the European Commission appointed the 15 new members of the new European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies (EGE).

The EGE advises on all aspects of Commission policies and legislation where ethical, societal and fundamental rights dimensions intersect with the development of science and new technologies.

The newly established group brings together top-tier experts from across Europe and the world. Its members have a far-reaching understanding of current and emerging ethical developments and bring a wealth of experience from academia, ethical and government advisory bodies. A full list of the newly appointed members is available here.  

Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, said:

Research and innovation improve people’s lives and the environment they live in. The expertise and wisdom of the 15 newly appointed members of the European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies will help us to put European values at the heart of the green and digital transition.

The appointments follow the renewal of the EGE’s legal mandate and the publication of the call for applications last year, re-confirming the commitment of the European Commission to embed ethics in EU policies and to further the Union as a community of values. The new makeup of the EGE reflects the broad cross-disciplinary scope of the group and represents a wide range of expertise from the fields of natural and social sciences, the humanities, philosophy, ethics and law. 


Since its inception in 1991, the EGE has provided the European Commission with high-quality independent advice. Its scope has progressively expanded from a focus on biomedical ethics to broader examinations of the major societal questions of our time. Previous EGE Opinions have focused on topics as wide-ranging as the future of work and the ethics of genome editing. With its new makeup, the EGE again comprises 15 highly qualified, independent members appointed in their personal capacity. The group reports to the President of the European Commission, and to the College of Commissioners as a whole, and was set up under the direct responsibility of the European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth. The members were selected from 150 candidates who responded to a public call for applications. The selection process was conducted with the support of an external Identification Committee, tasked with ensuring high-level professional experience and balance in terms of thematic expertise as well as geographical diversity and gender.

More information:

European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies (EGE)

Members of the EGE

EGE opinions


Publication date
26 January 2022
Directorate-General for Research and Innovation