Skip to main content
Research and innovation

Identification committee

The identification committee helps the Commission select the members of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Identification Committee 2020

The Identification Committee has advised the European Commission on the selection of candidate advisors following the call for nominations that closed on 15 of June 2020.

Committee members 2020

  • Rianne Letschert
    Rector Magnificus Maastricht University, member of the Executive Board. Professor International Law and Victimology Maastricht Law School, since 2016
  • Janez Potočnik
    Co-Chair of UNEP International Resource Panel, Former European Commissioner for Science and Research followed by Environment, and Partner SYSTEMIQ
  • Henrik C. Wegener
    Rector, University of Copenhagen, since 2017

Previous Identification Committees

Identification Committees advised the European Commission on the selection of candidate  advisors following the calls for nominations in July 2015 and November 2017.

Committee members 2015 and 2018

Biographies correct at the time of membership.

  • Rianne Letschert
    Director and professor of victimology and international law at the International Victimology Institute Tilburg, The Netherlands (INTERVICT)
  • Sir David King
    UK Government’s Chief Scientific Advisor from 2000 – 2007. Appointed as the UK Foreign Secretary’s Special Representative for Climate Change in September 2013
  • António Vitorino
    President of the Jacques Delors Institute and a lawyer by profession since 1982, he has been an associate at the law firm Cuatrecasas, Gonçalves Pereira & Associados, Portugal, since 2005