Skip to main content
Research and innovation
News article11 September 2020Directorate-General for Research and Innovation

European Capital of Innovation Awards (iCapital) 2020: six cities in the running for the title

Following an intense evaluation phase, six cities are now running for the title of European Capital of Innovation (iCapital) 2020.

A high-level jury of independent experts selected the six finalists after thorough interviews with twelve shortlisted cities.

Discover the promotional videos of this year’s twelve shortlisted cities.

The six finalists of this year’s edition are listed below in alphabetical order:

  • Cluj-Napoca (Romania)
  • Espoo  (Finland)
  • Helsingborg (Sweden)
  • Leuven (Belgium)
  • Valencia (Spain)
  • Vienna (Austria)

Funded by Horizon 2020, EU’s research and innovation programme, the prize recognises excellent initiatives that position European cities as test beds for innovation. The finalist cities are not shy of the great challenges they are facing and are seeking bottom up solutions and activities that enable the development of vibrant innovation ecosystems around them.

The Commission will announce the European Capital of Innovation 2020 and the five runners-up  on 24 September 2020 during a fully virtual awarding ceremony at  the European Research and Innovation Days ( 22-24 September 2020). Registration is open and free.

At the same event, the Commission will award the EU Prize for Women Innovators 2020, the EIC Horizon Prize for Affordable High-Tech for Humanitarian Aid, and the Horizon Impact Award 2020.

The winning city will become the European Capital of Innovation 2020 and receive  €1,000,000 to support its innovation activities and to enhance its capacity to connect individuals, public sector, academia, and businesses to deliver societal benefits for its communities. Five runners-up will be awarded €100,000 each.


Publication date
11 September 2020
Directorate-General for Research and Innovation