Skip to main content
Research and innovation

Members of the European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies (EGE)

Barbara Prainsack


Professor at the Department of Political Science at the University of Vienna Director of the Centre for the Study of Contemporary Solidarity (CeSCoS), and of the interdisciplinary Research Platform “Governance of Digital Practices”.

Member of the former EGE.

Maria do Céu Patrão Neves


Professor of Ethics at the University of the Azores.

President of the Portuguese National Council of Ethics for the Life Sciences.

Member of several Ethics Committees, Coordinator of international and national projects on Ethics, Science and Society.

Nils-Eric Sahlin


Professor of Medical Ethics, Lund University.

Member of The Royal Swedish Academy of Letters, History and Antiquities.

Chairman of The Swedish Research Council's Expert Group on Ethics.

Member of the former EGE.

Nikola Biller-Andorno

Chair of Biomedical Ethics and Director, Institute of Biomedical Ethics and History of Medicine, University of Zurich (UZH), a WHO Collaborating Center for Bioethics.

Vice Dean Innovation and Digitalization, Medical Faculty, UZH (since 2021).

Migle Laukyte

Associate Professor in Artificial Intelligence and Law at the Law Faculty of Pompeu Fabra University in Barcelona (Spain).

Member of the European Group of Blockchain Ethics (EGBE) as part of European Blockchain Service Infrastructure (EBSI).

Paweł Łuków

Dean of the Faculty of Philosophy, University of Warsaw, Poland.

Head of the Committee for the Ethics in Science of the Polish Academy of Science.

Pierre Mallia

Professor of Family Medicine and Patients’ Rights at the University of Malta, Medical School.

Chair of the Department of Health Research Ethics Committee.

Chair of the Bioethics Consultative Committee of the Ministry of Health.

Member of the Committee for Bioethics of the Council of Europe.

Fruzsina Molnár-Gábor

Professor of International Medical and Health Law as well as Data Protection Law at the Faculty of Law at the University of Heidelberg.

Member of Young Academy of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

Member of Young Academy of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.

Thérèse Murphy

Professor of Law and Director of the Health & Human Rights Unit, Queen's University Belfast.

Chairperson of the European Master's in Human Rights and Democratisation.

Member of Ireland's National Research Ethics Committee on Medical Devices.

Member of the UK's Moral and Ethical Advisory Group.

Herman Nys

Alternate Member of the Belgian Federal Advisory Committee on Bioethics.

President of the Board of Governors of LUCAS (Centre for care research and consultancy, KU Leuven.

President of the Board of Governors of the VITAZ Hospital.

Member of the former EGE.

Laura Palazzani

Professor of Philosophy of law and biolaw, Lumsa University in Rome.

Member of the UNESCO International Bioethics Committee.

Italian delegate at the Steering Committee for Human Rights in the field of Biomedicine and Health.

She was a member (2002-2018) and deputy vice chair (2018-2022) of the Italian Committee for Bioethics.

Member of the former EGE.

Tamar Sharon

Professor of Philosophy, Digitalization and Society at Radboud University Nijmegen.

Chair of the Department of Ethics and Political Philosophy.

Co-Director of iHub, the Interdisciplinary Hub for Digitalization and Society.

Marcel Jeroen van den Hoven

University Professor and professor of Ethics and Technology at Delft University of Technology.

Scientific Director of the Delft Design for Values Institute.

Editor in Chief of Ethics and Information Technology (Springer Nature).

Member of the former EGE.

Renata Veselská

Professor of Molecular Biology and Genetics at the Department of Experimental Biology and Professor of Bioethics at the Department of Medical Ethics, Masaryk University in Brno.

Vice-chair of the Bioethics Committee of the Research and Development Council of the Czech Government.

Member of the Ethics Committee of the Czech Ministry of Healthcare.

Chair of the Research Ethics Committee of Masaryk University.

Takis Vidalis
Takis Vidalis

Adjunct Professor at the International Hellenic University of Thessaloniki and the University of Athens Senior researcher and legal advisor of the Hellenic National Commission for Bioethics and Technoethics Research Ethics Committee president of the National Centre for Scientific Research "Democritos".