Skip to main content
Research and innovation

Partnership for Research and Innovation in the Mediterranean Area (PRIMA)

A joint programme to support food systems and water resources in the Mediterranean basin, partner countries, international agreements and latest

What is PRIMA?

The Partnership on Research and Innovation in the Mediterranean Area (PRIMA) will develop much-needed solutions for a more sustainable management of water and agri-food systems in the Mediterranean basin.

It is a ten-year initiative (2018-2028), partly funded by EU's research and innovation programme Horizon 2020.

Its main objective is to devise new research and innovation approaches to improve water availability and sustainable agriculture production in a region heavily distressed by climate change, urbanisation and population growth.

The PRIMA foundation is in charge of implementing the partnership.

Partner countries and funding

19 countries participate: Algeria, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Malta, Morocco, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Tunisia and Turkey.

Bilateral international agreements with the EU were signed with Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon and Morocco for their participation in PRIMA.

The partnership received funding from participating countries (currently €274 million) and a €220 million contribution from the EU through Horizon 2020, its research and innovation programme.

Calls for proposals

The PRIMA foundation launches yearly calls for proposals to mobilise the Euro-Mediterranean scientific communities, stakeholders and public and private entities to identify research and innovation solutions for more sustainable water and food management.

More details on the calls


The agricultural sector in the Mediterranean has suffered from severe water shortages and decreasing crop yields in recent years. Today, 180 million people in the Mediterranean basin are considered 'water poor'. The lack of clean water and nutritious food has adverse effects on the health and stability of the populations.

In 2014, 9 EU countries – Croatia, Cyprus, France, Greece, Italy, Malta, Portugal, Slovenia and Spain – submitted a proposal for the EU to take part in a joint research and innovation programme to develop and deploy innovative solutions for food systems and water resources in the Mediterranean basin through an Article 185 initiative under Horizon 2020.


Email: RTD-PRIMAatec [dot] europa [dot] eu (RTD-PRIMA[at]ec[dot]europa[dot]eu)


  1. 27 February 2018
  2. 16 January 2018
  3. 15 March 2018
  4. 26 October 2017
  5. 7 August 2017

    Council Decision in PRIMA entered into force

  6. 13 June 2017

    European Parliament adopted decision on PRIMA

  7. October 2016
  8. February to April 2016

    Stakeholder consultation process took place

  9. December 2015