Skip to main content
Research and innovation
Conferences and summits

Opportunities for enhanced STI cooperation between the EU & Africa

Online seminar

AERAP, the Africa-Europe science platform, will organise a briefing on EU support for cooperation with Africa on science, R&D innovation and education for the period 2021 to 2027.

The briefing will take place online on Wednesday, 18 November 2020.

In March 2020 European Commission published a Communication entitled Towards a comprehensive Strategy with Africa, which sets out a new comprehensive EU strategy with Africa that will be built on five partnerships:

  1. A partnership for green transition and energy access;
  2. A partnership for digital transformation;
  3. A partnership for sustainable growth and jobs;
  4. A partnership for peace and governance;
  5. A partnership on migration and mobility.

Speakers will include

• Maria Cristina Russo, Director for International Cooperation in Research and Innovation, European Commission

• Mahama Ouedraogo, Director of Human Resources, Science and Technology Department, African Union Commission

• Nienke Buisman, DG Research and Innovation (RTD), European Commission

• Thierry Barbe, DG Development and Cooperation (DEVCO), European Commission

• Graham Wilkie, DG Education and Culture (EAC), European Commission

• Mauro Facchini, DG Defence Industry and Space (DEFIS), European Commission

• Liliana Pasecini, Inter-institutional, International Relations and Outreach, DG JRC, European Commission

• Denis Dembois, DG Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs (GROW), European Commission

• Lora Borissova, Cabinet Commissioner Urpilainen, International Partnerships, European Commission

• Martina Hartle, Department International Research Cooperation and Science Diplomacy, Federal Ministry for Education, Science and Research, Austria

• Jan Marco Müller, Science and Technology Advisor, European External Action Service (EEAS)

• Ronald de Bruin, European Cooperation in Science and Technology (COST)

• Maria João Pinto, Counsellor at the Cabinet of the Minister of Science, Technology and High Education

• Carlos Zorrinho, MEP, Chair, European Parliament Delegation to the Africa, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly

• James Kasigwa, Chair of the African Union-European Union High-Level Policy Dialogue on Science and Technology, Uganda

• Marcel Tanner, High Representative for Europe, European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP)

• Jamal Mimouni, President, African Astronomical Society (AfAS), Algeria

• Juan Miguel González-Aranda, LifeWatch ERIC, EU-AFRICA Green Deal collaboration on Biodiversity & Climate Change, Spain

• Martha Phiri, Director for Human Capital Youth and Skills Development, African Development Bank,

• Daan Du Toit, DDG: International Cooperation and Resources Department of Science and Innovation, South Africa

  • Wednesday 18 November 2020, 09:00 (CET)
  • Online only
  • Live streaming available
  • External event

Practical information

Wednesday 18 November 2020, 09:00 (CET)
Online only