Skip to main content
Research and innovation

Members of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Current and former members, and their affiliations.

Current members

Nicole Grobert

Professor of Nanomaterials, Department of Materials, University of Oxford

Download CV

Maarja Kruusmaa

Professor of Biorobotics, Vice-rector for Research, Tallinn University of Technology (TalTech) and Visiting professor with Norwegian Institute of Science and Technology (NTNU)

Download CV

Eric F. Lambin

Professor of Geography and Sustainability Science, Université catholique de Louvain and Stanford University.

Download CV

Alberto Melloni

Professor of History of Christianity at University of Modena/Reggio Emilia, secretary of the Foundation for Religious Studies and Chair Holder of the UNESCO Chair on Religious Pluralism and Peace at the University of Bologna.

Download CV

Nebojsa Nakicenovic

deputy Chair

Director of The World in 2050 (TWI2050). Former Deputy Director General and Acting Director General of the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA) and a former tenured Professor of Energy Economics at Vienna University of Technology.

Download CV

Eva Zažímalová

Professor of Plant Anatomy and Physiology, president of the Czech Academy of Sciences, scientist at the Institute of Experimental Botany of the Czech Academy of Sciences.

Download CV

Former members

Éva Kondorosi

Professor, Research Director of the Institute of Plant Biology, Biological Research Centre, Hungarian Academy of Sciences Centre of Excellence.

Carina Keskitalo

Professor of Political Science, Department of Geography, Umeå University

Sir Paul Nurse

deputy Chair (2020-2021)
Director of the Francis Crick Institute London

Janusz Bujnicki

(2015 - 2020)
Professor, Head of the Laboratory of Bioinformatics and Protein Engineering, International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology, Warsaw

Pearl Dykstra

deputy Chair (2015-2020)
Professor of Sociology, Erasmus University Rotterdam

Elvira Fortunato

Professor, Materials Science Department of the Faculty of Science and Technology, NOVA University, Lisbon

Rolf-Dieter Heuer

Chair (2017-2020). Former Director-General of the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)

Julia Slingo

(2015 - 2016)
Chief Scientist, Met Office, Exeter

Henrik C. Wegener

Chair (2015 - 2017)
Executive Vice President, Chief Academic Officer and Provost, Technical University of Denmark

Cédric Villani

(2015 - 2017)
Director, Henri Poincaré Institute, Paris