Skip to main content
Research and innovation
News article8 December 2020Directorate-General for Research and Innovation1 min read

Virtual Launch of the African Research Initiative for Scientific Excellence (ARISE) pilot programme

Today, the European Union has announced the launch of the “African Research Initiative for Scientific Excellence” (ARISE) Pilot Programme with a European support of €25 million. ARISE will empower early career African scientists in delivering cutting-edge research across Africa. The ARISE Pilot Programme will be implemented by the African Academy of Sciences with the strategic direction of the European Union and the African Union.

Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, said:

This initiative is in line with already other ongoing efforts, for example under the EU-AU High-Level Policy Dialogue on Science, Technology and Innovation with its investments reaching more than €1.8 billion.  It will support African scientists and their capacity to contribute with cutting-edge research, reinforce their potential to benefit from EU research and innovation instruments, as well as enhance collaboration on equal footing with the European continent.

The European Commissioner for International Partnerships, Jutta Urpilainen, as well as the African Union Commissioner Sarah Anyang Agbor also participated.

The meeting was opened by Director Sandra Kramer from the European Commission’s Directorate-General International Partnerships. Director Maria Cristina Russo, from Directorate-General Research and Innovation, closed the meeting whishing all future applicants the best of success, and inviting the African Academy of Sciences and all stakeholders to ensure the programme fully contributes to accelerate scientific enterprise in Africa and increases international cooperation in order to level the playing field with the global North in support of sustainable development.

More information

Event website

International cooperation with Africa


Publication date
8 December 2020
Directorate-General for Research and Innovation