

Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

A Systemic Approach to the Energy Transition in Europe

Sounding Board Meeting Report

Scientific Advice Mechanism

6 May 2021, Brussels



A Systemic Approach to the Energy Transition in Europe

Sounding Board Meeting hosted by the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors (GCSA) of the European Commission's Scientific Advice Mechanism (SAM)

6 May 2021, Videoconference

MEETING REPORT¹

As one of the final stages in developing the Scientific Opinion, the EC Group of Chief Scientific Advisors has requested to hold a "sounding board" meeting with eminent experts in the field to elicit their views on the draft recommendations developed by the Advisors. The Group considers the Sounding Board to be among the critical final stages in the development of their Scientific Opinion.

The experts participating in the meeting were Nuno Bento (University of Lisbon), Paolo Bertoldi (EC-JRC), Aleh Cherp (Central European University), Heleen De Coninck (Eindhoven University of Technology), Lena Neij (Lund University), Aleksandra Novikova (Institut für Klimaschutz, Energie und Mobilität), Linda Steg (University of Groningen) Wadim Strielkowski (Prague Bussiness School) and Jeroen Van den Bergh (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona). The meeting was co-chaired by Chief Scientific Advisors Carina Keskitalo and Nebojsa Nakicenovic with support from staff of the SAM secretariat, and was also attended by Rolf Heuer, former chair of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors.

All experts had received a preliminary draft of the recommendations of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors. The Group of Chief Scientific Advisors sought the views of scientific experts, acting in their personal capacity, on the scope, accuracy, clarity, feasibility, and order of importance of these draft recommendations and on further evidence-based considerations.

The Chief Scientific Advisors thank the experts for the helpful, insightful and extremely valuable contributions.

-

¹ See meeting agenda and list of participants at the end this document

Agenda

Expert Sounding Board Meeting

A Systemic Approach to the Energy Transition in Europe

Thursday, 6 May 2021 – 13:30 – 17:00 – Webex

Co- Chairs:

Carina Keskitalo, Topic co-lead in the EC Group of Chief Scientific Advisors Nebojsa Nakicavic, Topic lead in the EC Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

13:20 - 13:30	Setting up Webex
13:30 - 13:40	Tour de Table
13:40 - 13:55	General Overview of the SAM - Purpose of the meeting (Carina Keskitalo)
13:55 – 14:15	The opinion - Draft observations and recommendations (Nebojsa Nakicavic)
14:15 – 14:45	Discussion – Introduction, recommendation and overall comments
14:45 – 15:15	Discussion Recommendation 1 - All
15:15 – 15:30	Break
15:30 – 16:00	Discussion Recommendation 2 - All
16:00 - 16:30	Discussion Recommendation 3 - All
16:30 - 17:00	Wrap-up

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS AND OTHER ATTENDEES

Scientific experts					
Bento	Nuno	ISCTE - University Institute of Lisbon	Portugal		
Bertoldi	Paolo	EC-JRC	Italy		
Cherp	Aleh	Central European University	Austria		
De Coninck	Heleen	Eindhoven University of Technology	Netherlands		

A Systemic Approach to the Energy Transition in Europe, 6 May 2021, BRUSSELS

Heuer	Rolf	Former Director-General of the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)	Germany			
Neij	Lena	Institute for industrial environmental economies, Lund Unversity	Sweden			
Novikova	Aleksandra	Institut für Klimaschutz, Energie und Mobilität	Germany			
Steg	Linda	University of Groningen Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences	Netherlands			
Strielkowski	Wadim	Prague Business School	Czech Republic			
Van den Bergh	Jeroen	Institute of Environmental Science and Technology, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona	Spain			
Scientific Advice Mechanism (SAM)						
Keskitalo	Carina	GCSA, Umeå University				
Nakicenovic	Nebojsa	GCSA, Director of The World in 2050 (TWI2050). Former Deputy Director General and Acting Director General of the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)				
EC Observers						
Magnani	Nicola	European Commission				
Verraes	Jacques	European Commission				
Ascher	Annabelle	European Commission (GCSA secretariat)				
Kwiecinski	Piotr	European Commission				
Zegers	Ingrid	European Commission				