

#### Agenda

## 15<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors 4-5 December 2018 Brussels

#### Venue Day 1: BERL 09/121, Venue Day 2: ORBN 03/67

#### 1<sup>st</sup> meeting day: 4 December 2018

- 1. Welcome and adoption of agenda 09:15 09:30
- 2. Topic up-dates and preparation of agenda items 3 and 4 09:30 - 10:30

10:30 – 11:00 Coffee Break

## 3. Up-date on ongoing and planned topics Presence of the Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, Carlos Moedas 11:00 – 11:30

- Microplastics
- Gene editing
- 4. Exchange with Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development, Phil Hogan, and with Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, Carlos Moedas 11:30 – 12:30
  - Brief presentation of published science advice products of relevance to agriculture
  - Discussion on possible scientific opinion related to Sustainable Food Systems

12:30 – 14:00 Lunch with European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation Carlos Moedas and Science Advice for Policy by European Academies (SAPEA) Presidents;

 Exchange on published, planned and ongoing topics with SAPEA (with SAPEA Representatives) 14:00 – 16:30

- End of first day -

19:00 Dinner

#### 2<sup>nd</sup> meeting day: 5 December 2018

6. Impact of published scientific opinions: Food from the Oceans – feedback from DG MARE

09:00 – 09:45

09:45 – 10:00 Coffee Break

- 7. Events with participation of Group of Chief Scientific Advisor 10:00 10:45
  - Feedback from INGSA conference 2018
  - American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) conference, February 2019, and meeting 'G7 Scientific Advice Cooperation on Microplastics Pollution Round Table',
  - European Science Advisors Forum Meeting, June 2019
  - World Conference on Science Journalists, July 2019,
  - Other
- 8. Strategy for the identification of own-initiative topics 10:45 – 11:15
- **9. Organisational issues** *11:15 11:45*
- **10. Wrap up and AOB** 11:45-12:00

- End of Meeting -

# List of Participants

## Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Rolf-Dieter Heuer, Chair; Pearl Dykstra, Deputy Chair; Janusz Bujnicki, Member; Carina Keskitalo, Member; Sir Paul Nurse, Member; Nicole Grobert, Member;

SAPEA (Science Advice to Policy by European Academies) Agenda Items 5 and 6 Sierd Cloetingh (President AE), incoming Chair of SAPEA board; Bernard Charpentier (Previous President FEAM); Antonio Loprieno (President ALLEA); Thierry Courvoisier (President EASAC); Reinhard Hüttl (President Euro-CASE); Rudolf Hielscher, Coordinator of SAPEA; Jacqueline White, Senior Science Policy Officer;

## European Commission

Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development, Phil Hogan (agenda item 4); Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, Carlos Moedas (agenda item 3 and 4); Keith Sequeira, Cabinet Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation;

Jean-Eric Paquet, Director-General for Research and Innovation (agenda item 3 and4); Wolfgang Burtscher, Deputy Director-General for Research and Innovation; Sabine Juelicher, Director of Directorate E Food and Feed Safety, Innovation (agenda item 4); Marco Valletta, Cabinet Andriukaitis, European Commissioner for Health and Food Safety (agenda item 4);

Iain Shepherd, Directorate General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, Unit A.1 Maritime Innovation, Marine Knowledge and Investment (agenda item 6);

Johannes Klumpers, DG RTD, Head of Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism;

Jeremy Bray, DG RTD, Deputy Head of Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism;

Sigrid Weiland, DG RTD, Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism;

Annabelle Ascher, DG RTD, Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism;

Maria Da Graça Carvalho, DG RTD, Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism;

Additional colleagues of the SAM secretariat depending on the respective agenda item