

## 12<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors 27 April 2018 Brussels

### Venue: ORBAN 03/67

- 1. Welcome and adoption of agenda 08:45 09:00
- **2. Candidate topics** 09:00 09:30

Up-date and discussion - Microplastics - Air Quality - Sustainable Food Systems

- **3.** General exchange between the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors and Director-General for Research and Innovation Jean-Eric Paquet 09:30 – 10:00
- Draft Scientific Opinion 'Novel Carbon Capture and Utilisation Technologies: Research and Climate Aspects' 10:00 – 11:00 Presence of Silvia Bartolini (Cabinet Cañete) and Artur Runge-Metzger, Director C, Climate Strategy, Governance and Emissions from Non-Trading Sectors of Directorate-General for Climate Action Up-date and discussion

#### 11:00-11:15 Coffee break

- 5. Candidate topics cont'd 11:15 - 12:45
  - Microplastics
  - Air Quality
  - Sustainable Food Systems

13:00 – 14:30 Lunch with Chief Scientific Advisor to the Irish Government Mark Ferguson

## 6. Ongoing topics

14:45 – 16:15

Up-date and discussion

- Authorisation Processes of Plant Protection Products in Europe
- Making Sense of Science under Conditions of Complexity and Uncertainty
- Transforming the Future of Ageing

## 16:15 - 16:30 Coffee break

- 7. Up-date on meetings and events 2018/19 16:30 - 17:00
- ESOF 2018
- Retreat meeting with SAPEA on 20 June
- AAAS 2019
- INGSA 2018
- ESAF meeting 26/27 June
- Joint Work Shop SAPEA EGE SAM on AI

## 8. AOB

17:00 - 17:30 - High Level Groups and Science Advice Structures of the European Commission

- End of Meeting -

# **List of Participants**

### Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Rolf-Dieter Heuer, Chair; Pearl Dykstra, Deputy Chair; Janusz Bujnicki, Member; Elvira Fortunato, Member; Carina Keskitalo, Member; Sir Paul Nurse, Member

### SAPEA (Science Advice to Policy by European Academies)

Bernard Charpentier, Chair of SAPEA board; Rudolf Hielscher, Coordinator of SAPEA; Yves Caristan, Secretary-General of Euro-Case; Marco Mazzotti, Co-Chair of CCU Working Group; Wolf Gehrisch, Euro-Case, member of coordination team Jacqueline Whyte, Senior Science Policy Officer

## European Commission

Silvia Bartolini, Cabinet Cañete, European Commissioner for Climate Action and Energy (tbc); Keith Sequeira, Cabinet Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation;

Jean-Eric Paquet, Director-General for Research and Innovation;

Artur Runge-Metzger, Director C, Climate Strategy, Governance and Emissions from Non-Trading sectors, Directorate-General of Climate Action;

Johannes Klumpers (DG RTD, Head of Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism);

Jeremy Bray (DG RTD, Deputy Head of Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism);

Sigrid Weiland (DG RTD, Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism, Manager of Group of Chief Scientific Advisors);

Maria Da Graça Carvalho (DG RTD, Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism);

Additional colleagues of the SAM secretariat depending on the respective agenda item