

Agenda

20th meeting of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors 10/11 December 2019 Brussels

Venue: ORBN 3/67; BERL, Walter Hallstein; BERL 62

10 December 2019

0. Meeting with European Commissioner for Research, Innovation, Education, Culture and Youth - Mariya Gabriel

17:00 - 17:15

11 December 2019

- 1. Welcome and adoption of the agenda and the minutes of the 19th plenary meeting 9:00 -9:10
- 2. Ongoing and possible future scientific advice

9:10 - 11:00

- a. Energy systems
- b. Transforming the Future of Ageing
- c. Sustainable food systems
- d. Climate change and health
- e. Biodegradability of plastics
- f. Data governance
 - Coffee will be served at 10:15 -
- 3. Exchange with Eva Kaili (Member of the European Parliament Chair of Science and Technology Options Assessment STOA)

11:00 -11:45

4. Discussion with R. Hüttl (Chair of Board 'Science Advice for Policy by European Academies'- SAPEA)

11:45 -12:30

13:00 - 14:30 Lunch

5. Planning and feedback from events

14:30 -15:00

21st plenary meeting in Warsaw (3-5 February 2020); EuroScience Open Forum (5-9 July 2020); European Science Conference 'The Future of Science Advice in Europe' (Helsinki) 13 November 2019, Canadian Science Policy Conference (13-15 November 2019), ALLEA Symposium on Genome Editing for Crop Improvement (7/8 November).

6. Meeting with Vice-President for Inter-institutional Relations and Foresight - Maroš Šefčovič

15:00 - 15:45

- 16:00 Coffee -

7. Ongoing and possible future scientific advice, cont'd

16:15 -17:15

8. Updates from Secretariat

17:15 -18:00

9. AOB

End: 18:00

List of Participants

Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Rolf-Dieter Heuer, Chair;

Pearl Dykstra, Deputy Chair;

Janusz Bujnicki, Member;

Elvira Fortunato, Member;

Nicole Grobert, Member;

Carina Keskitalo, Member;

Paul Nurse, Member.

Additional Participants

Eva Kaili, MEP and Chair of STOA (for agenda item 3);

SAPEA - (agenda items 2,3,4)

Reinhard Hüttl (President of Euro-CASE, Chair of SAPEA board);

Rudolf Hielscher, SAPEA Coordinator

European Commission

Vice-President Maroš Šefčovič

Manuel Szapiro, Deputy Head of Cabinet Šefčovič (agenda item 6); Commissioner Gabriel (agenda item 0);

Chiara Salvelli, Deputy Head of Cabinet Gabriel (agenda item 0);

Wolfgang Burtscher, Deputy Director-General for Research & Innovation (DG RTD) (agenda item 3 and 6)

Johannes Klumpers, DG RTD, Head of Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE Jeremy Bray, DG RTD, Deputy Head of Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE Sigrid Weiland, DG RTD, Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE, Secretary of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors;

Several members of DG RTD Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE, depending on the respective agenda item.