

Eva Zažímalová

Eva Zažímalová has been President of the Czech Academy of Sciences since 2017 (re-elected for her second term of office in 2021, due until 2025). She is also a scientist at the Institute of Experimental Botany of the Czech Academy of Sciences. Between 2007-2012, she served as Director of this Institute as well.

In her research work, Eva Zažímalová deals with the phytohormone auxin – its metabolism and molecular mechanisms of its activity and transport in plant cells. She was a coordinator and investigator of many national and international projects and contributed significantly to the organisation of several international symposia. She is the author or co-author of original scientific papers published in renowned international journals (including Science, Nature, PNAS, Cell etc.) and editor of specialised monographs. In 2013, she was given the title Professor for the field of anatomy and physiology of plants at Charles University, Prague.

She is a member of the subject area board of the doctoral study programmes Anatomy and Physiology of Plants and Biochemistry at the Faculty of Science of Charles University in Prague, and a member of the subject area board of the Anatomy and Physiology of Plants study programme at the Faculty of Agronomy of Mendel University in Brno. She is a member of scientific boards of Charles University in Prague, Palacký University in Olomouc, Masaryk University in Brno, University of South Bohemia in České Budějovice and Comenius University in Bratislava, Slovakia. She also serves as a member in the board of trustees of University of Chemistry and Technology, Prague, The Academy of Performing Arts in Prague and University of Veterinary Sciences, Brno. She is a member of the Learned Society of the Czech Republic, the European Academy of Sciences and Arts, and honorary member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences.

Since 2008, Eva Zažímalová has been working as a panel member for the European Commission (FP7 – Marie Curie Fellowships and Horizon 2020 – Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellowships), and since 2013, she has been a panel member or panel evaluator for the European Research Council (ERC Starting Grants).