

## Agenda

# 23<sup>rd</sup> meeting of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors 11 - 12 May 2020 Videoconference (via Webex)

## <u>11 May 2020 - Day 1</u>

Start: 10:00

- 1. Welcome with the participation of Jean-Eric Paquet, Director General for DG RTD 10:00-10:30
- 2. Adoption of the agenda and the minutes of the  $22^{nd}$  plenary meeting 10:30-10:35
- **3.** Ongoing and possible future scientific advice 10:35-12:30
  - a. Climate change and health
  - b. Energy systems
  - c. Biodegradability of plastics

Lunch break: 12:30-13:30

- 4. Ongoing and possible future scientific advice, cont'd 13:30-15:45
- 5. Exchange with the Executive Vice-President Frans Timmermans and information about SAM's activities of relevance to the EU Green Deal scientific opinions on 'Towards a sustainable food system' and 'Adaptation to climate change-related health effects'

15:45-16:45

End: 16:45

## 12 May 2020 - Day 2

#### Start: 9:15

6. Exchange with Professor Peter Piot, special advisor to EC President Ursula von der Leyen and member of the panel of scientific advisors on COVID-19, including discussion on possible future topic on COVID-19; with the participation of Jean-Eric Paquet, Director General for DG RTD

9:15-10:15

7. Exchange with Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, Mariya Gabriel on ongoing and possible future scientific advice 10:15-11:00

## 8. Updates from Secretariat

11:00-12:00

- Update on the identification committee for the Group of Chief Scientific
  Advisors and publication of call for nominations
- 9. Discussion with Reinhard Hüttl (Chair of Board 'Science Advice for Policy by European Academies')

12:00-13:00

10. Planning and feedback from events

EuroScience Open Forum (2-6 September 2020) 13:00-13:15

## 11. Wrap-up

*Action points 13:15-13:30* 

**12. AOB** 

13:30-13:45

End: 13:45

## **List of Participants**

### **Group of Chief Scientific Advisors**

Rolf-Dieter Heuer, Chair;

Pearl Dykstra, Deputy Chair;

Janusz Bujnicki, Member;

Elvira Fortunato, Member;

Nicole Grobert, Member;

Carina Keskitalo, Member;

Paul Nurse, Member;

Éva Kondorosi, new Member as of 16 May 2020.

## Other participants

Peter Piot, Special advisor to EC President von der Leyen and member of the panel of scientific advisors on COVID-19.

## SAPEA (Science Advice to Policy by European Academies)

Reinhard Hüttl (President of Euro-CASE, Chair of SAPEA board);

Rudolf Hielscher, SAPEA Coordinator.

#### **European Commission**

Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth;

Chiara Salvelli, Deputy Head of Cabinet Gabriel;

Vasco Ferreira, Member of Cabinet Gabriel;

Dorina Byanova, Assistant to Commissioner Gabriel;

Cidalia Santos, Assistant to Vasco Ferreira and Chiara Salvelli;

Frans Timmermans, Executive Vice President of the European Commission;

Damyana Stoynova, Member of Cabinet Timmermans;

Lukas Visek, Member of Cabinet Timmermans;

David Kiss, Assistant to Damyana Stoynova;

Jean-Eric Paguet, Director General of Directorate General for Research and Innovation;

Renzo Tomellini, DG RTD, Head of Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE;

Jeremy Bray, DG RTD, Deputy Head of Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE;

Sigrid Weiland, Assistant to Special Advisor to the EC President on COVID-19, Peter Piot;

Annabelle Ascher, DG RTD, Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE, Secretary of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors;

Vladia Monsurro, DG RTD, Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE, Secretariat of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors;

Additional members of the unit depending on topic discussion.