

Agenda

21st meeting of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors 3 and 5 February 2020 Warsaw Venue: International Institute for Molecular and Cell Biology

<u>3 February 2020</u>

- **1.** Welcome and adoption of the agenda and the minutes of the **20**th plenary meeting 14:00 14:10
- **2.** Updates from Secretariat 14:10 14:50
 - Nomination procedure
 - News from the Commission
- **3.** Ongoing and possible future scientific advice 14:50 18:00
 - a. Energy systems
 - b. Sustainable food systems*
 - c. Transforming the future of Ageing*
 - d. Climate change and health*
 - e. Biodegradability of plastics

18:00 Tour of International Institute for Molecular and Cell Biology (IIMCB)

<u> 4 February 2020</u>

High-Level Symposium "Scientific advice for evidence-informed policy-making" with the European Commission's Group of Chief Scientific Advisors, Organised by the Polish Academy of Sciences

5 February 2020

4. Discussion with R. Hüttl (Chair of Board 'Science Advice for Policy by European Academies') 9:00 -10:00

- Coffee at 10:00- 10:15 -

- Discussion on possible topics for scientific advice related to the portfolio of Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, Mariya Gabriel 10:15 - 11:00
- **6.** Follow-up discussion of the topic Sustainable food systems 11:00 – 11:45
- Discussion on possible subjects for scientific advice in support to Vice-President Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight, Maroš Šefčovič 11:45 – 12:30

8. Planning and feedback from events

12:30 -13:00

EuroScience Open Forum (5-9 July 2020); Meeting Evidence-based Policy Making in the New Commission, JRC Petten (5 December 2019)

9. Wrap-up

13:00 -13:15

- Action points

10. AOB

List of Participants

Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Rolf-Dieter Heuer, Chair; Pearl Dykstra, Deputy Chair; Janusz Bujnicki, Member; Elvira Fortunato, Member; Nicole Grobert, Member; Carina Keskitalo, Member;

SAPEA (Science Advice to Policy by European Academies) Reinhard Hüttl (President of Euro-CASE, Chair of SAPEA board); Rudolf Hielscher, SAPEA Coordinator

European Commission

Johannes Klumpers, DG RTD, Head of Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE Sigrid Weiland, DG RTD, Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE, Secretary of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors; Annabelle Ascher, DG RTD, Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE, Deputy Secretary of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors; Gerjon Ikink, DG RTD, Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE; Ingrid Zegers, DG RTD, Unit 03 Chief Scientific Advisors – SAM, EGE.