

### Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

# Towards a sustainable food system Expert Sounding Board Meeting Report

**Scientific Advice Mechanism** 

13 February 2020, Brussels



#### Towards a sustainable food system

Expert Sounding Board Meeting hosted by the Group of Scientific Advisors of the European Commission's Scientific Advice Mechanism (SAM)

13 February 2020, Frere-Orban Square 8, Brussels

#### MEETING REPORT<sup>1</sup>

An Expert Sounding Board meeting brings together members of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors and a select group of scientific experts with a wide distribution of relevant expertise. It will inform the deliberations of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors on their Scientific Opinion.

The experts that participated in the meeting were Tim Benton (Chatham House), Hamid El Bilali (Mediterranean Agronomic Institute of Bari, CIHEAM IAM), Adrian Leip (European Commission Joint Research Centre, JRC) and Peter Oosterveer (Wageningen University and Research, WUR). The meeting was co-chaired by Chief Scientific Advisors Carina Keskitalo, Rolf Heuer and Janusz Bujnicki, with support from staff of the SAM secretariat.

All experts had received a preliminary draft of the recommendations of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors. The Group of Chief Scientific Advisors sought the views of four scientific experts, acting in their personal capacity on the scope, accuracy, clarity, feasibility, and order of importance of these draft recommendations and on further evidence-based considerations.

None of the experts were members of the SAPEA Working Group authoring the Evidence Review Report underpinning the Scientific Opinion. However, the experts were aware of the evidence presented by the SAPEA Working Group, as they had received the draft Evidence Review Report and had all participated in the SAPEA expert workshop on 8 November 2019, in which an early draft of the Evidence Review Report was reviewed and discussed in detail. The experts additionally contributed by the sharing of their own knowledge and expertise and the provision of additional policy-relevant scientific evidence.

The Chief Scientific Advisors thank the experts for the helpful, insightful and constructive contributions.

-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See meeting agenda and list of participants at the end this document

#### **AGENDA**

#### Agenda

**Expert Sounding Board Meeting** 

## Towards a Sustainable Food System – Insights from social sciences

Thursday, 13 February 2020 – 10:30 – 15:30 – Meeting Room ORBN - 02/A066

8 Frere Orban Square, Brussels Brussels

**Objective:** As one of the final stages in developing the Scientific Opinion, the EC Group of Chief Scientific Advisors has requested to hold a "sounding board" meeting with eminent experts in the field to elicit their opinions on their recommendations. The Group considers the Sounding Board to be among the critical final stages in the development of their Scientific Opinion. The preliminary draft of their recommendations was made available on a confidential basis ahead of this meeting.

**Co- Chairs:** Carina Keskitalo, Topic lead in the EC Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Rolf Heuer, Chair of the EC Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Janusz Bujnicki, Member of the EC Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

10:00 - 10:30	Welcome Coffee
10:30 - 11:00	Purpose of the meeting
11:00 - 11:30	General overview - draft observations and recommendations
11:30 - 12:30	Discussion - All
12:30 - 13:30	Lunch Break
13:30 - 15:00	Discussion - All
15:00 - 15:30	Wrap-up

#### LIST OF PARTICIPANTS AND OTHER ATTENDEES

Scientific Experts			
Benton	Tim	Chatham House	
El Bilali	Hamid	Mediterranean Agronomic Institute of Bari (CIHEAM IAM)	
Leip	Adrian	European Commission Joint Research Centre (JRC)	
Oosterveer	Peter	Wageningen University and Research (WUR)	
Scientific Advice Mechanism (SAM)			
Heuer	Rolf-Dieter	Group of Chief Scientific Advisors	
Keskitalo	Carina	Group of Chief Scientific Advisors	
Bujnicki	Janusz	Group of Chief Scientific Advisors	
Klumpers	Johannes	SAM Unit	
Bray	Jeremy	SAM Unit	
Ikink	Gerjon	SAM Unit	
Zegers	Ingrid	SAM Unit	
Kwiecinski	Piotr	SAM Unit	
Weiland	Sigrid	SAM Unit	