

Agenda

17th meeting of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors 22-23 March 2019 Brussels

Venue: 22 March: Charlemagne¹ (15/031), Berlaymont² (09/121), 23 March: ORBN³ (3/67)

1st meeting day: 22 March 2019

- 1. Welcome and adoption of agenda 14:00 -14:30
- 2. Impact of published scientific opinions: Cybersecurity in the European Digital Single Market – feedback from DG CNECT Participation of Director-General Roberto Viola 14:30-15:30

15:30 – 16:00 Coffee Break

- 3. Topic: Microplastics Pollution*⁴ Participation of Commissioner Karmenu Vella (Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries) 16:00 – 16:45
- 4. Exchange with Theodorus Vermeire, Chair of the Scientific Committee on Health, Environmental and Emerging Risks (SCHEER), and Marco Vighi, Member of SCHEER* 16:45-17:45
- 5. Exchange with Sierd Cloetingh, President Academia Europaea, Chair of SAPEA Board 17:45 18:30

19:30 Dinner

- End of first day -

¹ For 22 March: all agenda points except 3

² For 22 March: agenda point 3

³ For 23 March

⁴ * indicates a point requiring a decision

2nd meeting day: 23 March 2019

- 6. Topic: Climate Change and Health * 09:00-09:45
- 7. Topic: An EU Sustainable Food System 09:45 10:15

10:15 – 10:45 Coffee Break

- 8. Topic: Making Sense of Science under Conditions of Complexity and Uncertainty* 10:45 12:15
- 9. Candidate Topic: Data Governance 12:15 – 12:30

12:30 – 13:30 Lunch

- **10.** Topic: Transforming the Future of Ageing 13:30 - 14:00
- **11.** Follow-up to delivered Scientific Advice 14:00 15:00
 - Authorisation Processes of Plant Protection Products
 - Gene Editing Statement
- **12. Up-coming meetings** *15:00 15:45*
- **13. Wrap up and AOB** 15:45 – 16:00

- End of Meeting -

List of Participants

<u>Group of Chief Scientific Advisors</u> Rolf-Dieter Heuer, Chair; Pearl Dykstra, Deputy Chair; Janusz Bujnicki, Member (day 2); Nicole Grobert, Member; Carina Keskitalo, Member; Sir Paul Nurse, Member;

SAPEA (Science Advice to Policy by European Academies)

Sierd Cloetingh (President Academia Europaea), Chair of SAPEA board (agenda items 2 and 5); George Griffin (President FEAM) (agenda items 3 and 4); Rudolf Hielscher, SAPEA Coordinator (agenda items 2 – 5);

<u>Scientific Committee on Health, Environmental and Emerging Risks (SCHEER)</u> Theodorus Vermeire, Chair (agenda items 3 and 4); Marco Vighi (agenda items 3 and 4);

European Commission

Karmenu Vella, Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries (agenda item 3); Helena Braun, Cabinet of the First Vice President Frans Timmermans (agenda item 3);

Andrew Bianco, Cabinet Vella, European Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries (agenda item 3);

Keith Sequeira, Cabinet Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation (agenda item 3);

Robert Schröder, Cabinet Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation (agenda item 3);

Roberto Viola, Director-General of Communication, Networks, Content and Technology (agenda item 2);

Signe Ratso, Deputy Director-General for Research and Innovation (agenda item 3);

Kestutis Sadauskas, Director for Environment (agenda item 3);

Johannes Klumpers, DG RTD, Head of Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism;

Jeremy Bray, DG RTD, Deputy Head of Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism;

Sigrid Weiland, DG RTD, Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism, Manager of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors;

James Gavigan, Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism;

Several members of Unit 0.2 Scientific Advice Mechanism, depending on the respective agenda item